Predatory Kill: Legal Thriller

If you are a fan of fast-paced, action-packed thrillers that combine corruption and murder with courtroom drama, then ‘Predatory Kill’ is for you

Can “too big to fail” get away with murder?

In Book 1 of the Brent Marks Legal Thriller Series, Eade delivers another solid and intricately plotted financial thriller.

A maniacal killer is on the loose. April’s mother is brutally murdered and her father beaten within an inch of his life. Attorney Brent Marks has already paid his dues as a lawyer, having taken his share of divorces and drunk driving cases over his 20 year career, but has finally reached a place in his life where he can take on cases of social importance. What he least expected was for April Marsh’s predatory lending case against the big banks for wrongful foreclosure on her parent’s home to turn into a murder investigation. As the courtroom drama heats up, the action outside the courtroom spirals out of control.

Searing, exhilarating and topical, Predatory Kill puts a new spin on the greatest financial crisis of the age

  • #1 Financial Thriller
  • #1 Political Thriller
  • #1 Pulp Thriller
  • #1 Legal Thriller

˃˃˃ Go on a wild ride where the action never stops

“Fans of John Grisham and Scott Turow will find equal talent here in Eade’s ability to captivate and hold readers with the unexpected, both in character development in nonstop action which lays the foundation for a story that’s anything but predictable. The realistic dialogue is – well – simply killer; while action points in one direction, then often takes a 360-degree turn. In a world where plot and outcome are often predictable from the start, this will prove more than satisfying to readers already well versed in the legal thriller format.” D. Donovan, Midwest Book Review

3dnew

˃˃˃ Discover what other readers already know

“If you are a fan of fast-paced, action-packed thrillers that combine corruption and murder with courtroom drama, then ‘Predatory Kill’ by Kenneth Eade is the best choice you could ever make. The author’s compelling writing and brilliant dialogue will remind you of John Grisham’s first novels, which makes Kenneth Eade an author you must follow. A master of mystery, thriller and suspense, the author is already well-known for his bestselling novel ‘An Involuntary Spy’, for which he was praised by both critics and Amazon reviewers.” Jo Ammons, NY Book Examiner

“Kenneth Eade is the well-known author of the bestselling political thriller “An Involuntary Spy”. Recently, he has published his second novel, “Predatory Kill”, which is an edge-of-your-seat legal thriller that will take readers by surprise and raise some thought-provoking questions about law and justice in the world we live in today.” Independent Publisher News

“If you like fast paced, action packed legal thrillers, then Predatory Kill is the book for you. Eade is a master of dialog and presents a well developed fictional tale that is full of drama both inside of the courtroom and out. Of course, this is a work of fiction, but the premise is believable and hooks you right away. The RICO statute has been used to prosecute many facets of organized crime; why not the perpetrators of the largest investment fraud in the 21st century? The hero of the story, Brent Marks, is tough to sell on his client’s claims that the foreclosing bank is responsible for her parents’ murder, but as the case unfolds, the evidence seems to mount up. Fact or fantasy, the issue of banks being above the law is a fact, and the murder angle makes for an excellent metaphor, well deserving of five stars.” “As good as any on the New York Times Bestseller List”

Review

  • “Fans of Grisham will find equal talent here in Eade’s ability to captivate and hold readers with the unexpected, both in character development in nonstop action which lays the foundation for a story that’s anything but predictable.  The realistic dialogue is – well – simply killer; while action points in one direction, then often takes a 360-degree turn. In a world where plot and outcome are often predictable from the start, this will prove more than satisfying to readers already well versed in the legal thriller format.”  D. Donovan, Midwest Book Review
  • “If you are a fan of fast-paced, action-packed thrillers that combine corruption and murder with courtroom drama, then ‘Predatory Kill’ by Kenneth Eade is the best choice you could ever make. The author’s compelling writing and brilliant dialogue will remind you of John Grisham’s first novels, which makes Kenneth Eade an author you must follow because his writing will become even better, and each new novel will take you by surprise. The author is already well-known for his bestselling novel ‘An Involuntary Spy’, for which he was praised by both critics and Amazon reviewers.”  Jo Ammons, NY Book Examiner
  • “Kenneth Eade is the well-known author of the bestselling political thriller “An Involuntary Spy”. Recently, he has published his second novel, “Predatory Kill”, which is an edge-of-your-seat legal thriller that will take readers by surprise and raise some thought-provoking questions about law and justice in the world we live in today.”  Independent Publisher News

From the Author

       I like to reward my readers for loyalty. Please sign up by sending me an email: info@timessquarepublishing.net.

      I always try to tell a good story, one with a compelling plot that will keep the pages turning. That is my first and primary goal. Sometimes I can tackle an issue-homelessness, tobacco litigation, insurance fraud, the death penalty-and wrap a good story around it. -John Grisham.  That is the idea behind this book, which I hope does both.  If you like this book, then check out my latest novels,  A Patriot’s Act, ASIN: B00MQ9TK0O, the prequel to Predatory Kill (When a naturalized American citizen turns up missing in Iraq, Brent Marks fights the Goliath U.S. Government’s Patriot Act with its own Constitution to set him free), and the latest novel in the series, HOA Wire, B00QPD8HF6  (the president of the homeowner’s association is murdered and all the residents are suspects) and An Involuntary Spy ASIN: B00GQPBLZ6 (Seth Rogan was a bad spy. That’s because he wasn’t a spy at all. Just a guy trying to do the right thing. As a biologist for the largest biotech company in the world, he had a great job, and enjoyed all the perks. But when asked to do some tests on the company’s genetically engineered (GMO) foods, he became entangled in a trail of corruption, fraud and conspiracy that he wanted no part of, but could not escape from.)
    Full review from Midwest Book Reviews:

Just as its title says, Predatory Kill: A Legal Thriller combines the genres of a good detective thriller with an exploration of legal process and, much in the manner of John Grisham, laces all this together with strong, believable protagonists who face the impossible.

All this comes from a lawyer/author, so the legal process is authoritative and specific as it relates a lawyer’s move to take on cases that involve wider-ranging, more difficult issues of social importance.

As chance would have it, Brent’s first venture into new legal realms involves one April Marsh, who instigates a case revolving around the predatory lending practices of big banks who have foreclosed on her parents’ home.

It all seems pretty cut and dried … until murder enters the picture.

With April’s mother dead and her father severely beaten, lawyer Brent Marks finds himself confronting an impossible conclusion: that big business has moved beyond the boundaries of predatory lending and into the realm of predatory killing. But why? What is so important about a single home that would cause a bank to hire a killer?

That’s the crux of an investigation that becomes more convoluted and complex as chapters go on, immersing readers in a series of legal and social encounters that involve twisted purposes, perspectives, and emotions gone wild.

Fans of Grisham will find equal talent here in Eade’s ability to captivate and hold readers with the unexpected, both in character development in nonstop action which lays the foundation for a story that’s anything but predictable.

The realistic dialogue is – well – simply killer; while action points in one direction, then often takes a 360-degree turn. In a world where plot and outcome are often predictable from the start, this will prove more than satisfying to readers already well versed in the legal thriller format.

Another note: there’s plenty of legal process and background incorporated into the chain of events. This lends Predatory Kill more than a realistic feel, with courtroom proceedings and arguments fueling the fire for out-of-courtroom drama.

Atmosphere is not neglected for the sake of either legal process or character development (as is too often the case in this genre): take (for example) an opening chapter in the salvo of a battle that crosses into different territory: “To the novice, it may have a appeared that a storm was rolling down Stagecoach Road, accompanied by dark clouds and the roar of thunder. But it was not an act of God; rather, a pack of hogs rolling into the Cold Spring Tavern Saturday night. The clan of bearded men and tattooed women rumbled in on their bikes, peeled their leather coated bodies off their saddles, and packed into the bar area.”

What does this rough-and-tumble piece have to do with lawyer Brent’s courtroom appearances, which liberally dose the book with realistic arguments and legal encounters? Read Predatory Kill to find out.

One thing’s for certain: you won’t be bored by this page-turner’s wealth of characters, settings, and unpredictable cat-and-mouse games.  D. Donovan, Midwest Book Review

 

 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Best Selling Author

%d bloggers like this: