Childhood and the Voice of Baseball/ Vin Scully and My Dad

Kenneth Eade

I lost my father this year.  There is probably nothing else in life that will deliver  the harsh reality of its temporary nature than losing a parent.  Dad used to take me to Dodger Stadium in the 60’s.  I would wear my T-ball uniform and take my baseball mitt, which I held open in as I sat in the stands, in great anticipation of catching that rare foul ball that popped up into the seats.  Dad said if I caught the ball, I could keep it, and maybe we could even get one of the players to sign it.  I was probably more alert during those games than any of the Dodgers in the field.

I remember watching Don Drysdale warming up in the bull pen as Sandy Koufax pitched overhand curve balls to Willy Mays and Juan Marichal but my six-year-old mind had no clue that I was actually…

View original post 317 more words

One thought on “Childhood and the Voice of Baseball/ Vin Scully and My Dad”

Leave a Reply

